Home Page

Christ the King Catholic Primary School

Learning to Love. Loving to Learn

Christ the King is the first school in Cardiff to be awarded Gold status for being a Rights Respecting School! Helping to reach the 17 global goals for a better world by 2030.
  • Search
  • Translate


Welcome to our Governors’ section.

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

Details of the Governing Body Building and Maintenance Fund

Christ the King Catholic Primary School


The Governing Body


The purpose of the governing body is to:


· agree the aims and values of the school;

· agree what the school is seeking to achieve for its children and the community it serves;

· decide what aspects of school life are most important to the development of children; and

· agree policies relating to the aims, purposes and practices of the school.


We work together with the head teacher and staff to make sure that schools provide successful teaching and learning for our children and raise standards.


Governing bodies exist so that the schools are publically accountable to parents, the local authority and the local community for what they do, for the results they achieve, and for the way in which resources are allocated.


We are very lucky at Christ the King Primary School to have the support of a very committed and dedicated group of people as our Governors.



Mrs Priya Parsons


Foundation Governors:

Mrs Valerie Graham                          Mrs Sheila Drayton                            

Mrs Monica Maddox                         Mrs Patricia Burford                          

Mr Sean Taylor                                   Canon Matthew Jones                                   

Mrs Ceri Ann Pocknell                       Mrs Priya Parsons      


Local Authority Governors:

Mrs Sarah Beal                                   Mrs Lydia Haskey

Head Teacher:

Mrs Rachel Woodward


Staff Governors:                               

Mrs Sue Miles                                     Mrs J O’Brien


Parent  Governors:   

Mr Paul Watkins                                  Mrs Lucy Bicker


Clerk to the Governors:

Andrea Redmond